and functions. There are no rural municipalities in the usual sense. Only about one-fifth of 1 p.c. of the total area is municipally organized. Municipalities are supervised by the Department of Municipal Affairs and Supply.

Prince Edward Island.—In this island province, one city and seven towns have been incorporated under special Acts and 16 villages have been established under the Village Services Act. There is no municipal organization for the remainder of the province although it is divided into school sections which have elected school boards.

Nova Scotia.—Municipal organization in Nova Scotia covers the whole of the province. The three cities operate under special charters and special legislation. Thirty-nine towns operate under the Town Incorporation Act but there are no municipalities incorporated as villages. Cities and towns are independent of counties. The rural area is divided into 18 counties which, in themselves, do not represent units of local government. However, 12 of these counties each comprise one municipality and the other six each comprise two municipalities, making a total of 24 rural municipalities. Supervision of municipalities is exercised through the Department of Municipal Affairs.

New Brunswick.—This province is divided into 15 counties which are incorporated municipalities and have direct powers of local self-government as rural municipalities, although certain of their powers often apply in both rural and urban municipalities. The six cities have special charters and the 20 towns operate under the Towns Incorporation Act. There is also one village. There are 62 local improvement districts and 12 commissions within the counties but outside the cities, towns and villages; these have been incorporated for the provision of limited municipal services. The Department of Municipal Affairs exercises supervision.

Quebec.—Municipal divisions in Quebec embrace the more thickly settled areas comprising about one-third of the province and the remainder is governed by the province as 'territories'. The organized area is divided into 74 county municipalities which are divided again into local municipalities and designated as village, township or parish municipalities or simply as municipalities. The counties as such have no direct powers of taxation. Funds to finance the services falling within their jurisdiction are provided by the municipalities forming part thereof. Parts of some counties are not yet organized into incorporated units of local government, being in outlying areas and having little or no population. There are 337 villages and 1,116 townships and parishes. A small number of these are independent of the counties in which they are located. The Municipal Code governs local municipalities and the 55 cities and 168 towns have special Acts. The supervision and assistance of municipalities is through the Department of Municipal Affairs and the Quebec Municipal Commission. Municipal statistics are gathered by the Quebec Bureau of Statistics.

The Montreal Metropolitan Corporation was created in 1959 and was granted all the powers and functions of the former Montreal Metropolitan Commission (created in 1921) and certain additional ones. The Corporation is administered by a council of representatives from the City of Montreal and 14 area municipalities. It exercises certain financial authority over these area municipalities, including approval of borrowings, and if any area municipality is unable to meet its obligations the Corporation may levy assessments on the other area municipalities until such time as the aided municipality can fulfil its own obligations. The Corporation may, with a municipality's consent, borrow in its own name on the municipality's behalf but all area municipalities and the City of Montreal are jointly and severally liable for such loans. The Corporation is authorized to undertake and finance the planning of metropolitan roads and in due course it expects to take on more of the functions of an over-all metropolitan administration.

The County of Laval was replaced in March 1959 by the Interurban Corporation of Jesus Island in order to facilitate solution of inter-municipal problems on the island.